Friday, August 20, 2010

Here it comes again!


Once again I am live from Timesquare.  More from the side this time, and the current time is 12:53am.  I'm kind of tired, but it looks really nice out here.
Today I saw some of more interesting things.  I actually came down to nighttime Times square to see Big time rush from Nickelodeon.  Like hey why not, free concert? Sure. 

While I was here it kind of felt like Hollywood. Random people dress up as character.  I saw Black Batman and Black joker.  That was interesting.  Lots of street performers.  Mostly precussion.  I was hoping for more guitar and some random classical.   But I hear I get more of that near central park, aka my destination tomorrow.  The msot notable characters I've met today are Naked Cowgirl.  I got pix don't worry.

I also got Shakeshack while I was in the city.  New yorkers say it's their in n out.  Lemme tell you ... IN N OUT DOESN'T CHARGE YOU FUCKING 5 DOLLARS FOR A BURGER.  The burger's pretty good.  I'd eat it again, but man 5 bucks is a lot of money. Their fries are better, but they have standard zigzaggy fries.  I didn't get to try their shake, but I'll probably get one some time this week.  Another 5 dollars.  dubya tee ef.

I got the basic Drink, Burger and fries.  The drink is small.  We're talking like less than 12 oz's of liquid small.  their burger is small.  Something between a slider and an in n out burger.  there have been many misadventures since my last update, but I haven't been able to upload pictures from my camera to a computer yet, so you'll have to wait a little while for those...


BUT a brief history in time, bryton's new york abridged version... Timesquare, CentralPark, White castle, Ping Pong, Chess hustlers, vegetarian chicken nuggets, and the hot dog that nearly came back.

Tuesday, August 17, 2010

Live from New York, It's The Blam!

The current New york time is 10:50am and I blog to you from the center of Times Square  Around me ads everywehre.  Closest to me, I am told that it's finally time to Hassle the Hoff, unfortunately that happened sunday and I wasn't able to attend.  I actually did not blog about my day in new york yesterday and I'll get that up here eventually.  I wanted to make sure I was able to load the pictures from my camera before I blogged about it.

BUT for now here we have time square pix

Monday, August 16, 2010

Rhode Island. Pilgrim, S. and Connecticut


I arrived in Rhode Island and found a new love.  Dunkin Donuts Iced coffee, sugar and cream with a caramel shot.  I will have its babies.  Adventuring in Rhode Island… less impressive.  Small state, small town, small things to do.  Really I think it takes like 45 minutes to drive across the state.  The biggest city they had, Warwick, or at least one of their bigger cities felt like a really big small town. 

BUT!

Mr. Disney showed me a super fantastic time while I was there and while there I met just an eclectic group of people.  They had these super awesome arcade machines that played Drumania, Guitar freaks, and that DJ machine thingy ma-bobber.  It was pretty cool. I felt like I was in a Japanese arcade all over again.  We ordered some dominoes. Thank Yooj! For covering for me!  The trick to a good pizza apparently is garlic and parmesan. 

Now… MR. PILGRIM!!!!

Okay peoples.  The critics said this movie was absolute crap.  They said it was made for ADHD people.  Well FUCK YOU! Scott Pilgrim is a testament to a generation of gaming.  If you liked Zelda: Link to the Past you will love this movie.  I can understand how this could not be everyone’s movie.  It’s clearly geared toward gamers, and people who enjoy generation of people who grew up in the 90s.  Leave the old rents at home, they won’t get the jokes.  This movie was made for us.  Thank you, Edgar Wright. You are awesome.  I’m sad you did not give us a Simon Pegg and Nick Frost cameo though.  It is my personal opinion that when you watch this movie, just pretend you’re playing a video game.  Also for you Michael Cera haters out there, I’m not a fan of him either, but the movie’s still worth it!

Connecticut

I feel a little weird that when I try to spell Connecticut, I think in my hand “(You) Connect, I cut.”  But it’s how I remember how to spell it.  Mr. Disney dropped me off in New Haven where I met my friend Sebastian Park, a student of Yale University.  Imagine a Korean dude who’s trying on a due of a Korean popstar.  He comes up to me with Korean popstar hair, shades, and a pretty nice shirt and pants to go with.  LADY KILLA@@@

So I hang out with him a while and as we travel to get food he quickly tells me the jaywalking laws of the east.  Fuggit.  People walk everywhere so long as they don’t get hit by a car! We reach out destination and wait an hour to get this pizza from a place I can’t remember at the moment.  We get a bottle of orange soda and a bottle of cola. The Pizza was pretty good. Sebastian begins to tell me a story of these two soda.  QUITE INTRIGUING!  Apparently the Italian mob owned this soda company as a coverup for their HQ! Pretty sneaky…… Damn good soda though.  I feel like I should get more!  Too bads I can’t remember what it was called…
We finish around 7 and here I am in New Haven, CT.  We just chill for another 3 hours and were like.  Man, we’re hungry.  So we go to this placed called “Miya’s” who has this crazy sushi that’s pretty awesome.  Every night after 10:30 they have Miya’s special where they give you 5 random pieces of sushi.  Delish!  There was a smoked salmon, caviar, other stuff in this one which was hella awesome.  They also had these other kinds like chicken broccoli and asparagus.  If you’re in New Haven, I recommend.  But that’s not the best part! Tonight will be the first night I have ever gotten drunk/buzzed.  They had this thing called “Firecracker Sake” BEST BOOZE EVER! I sure did spend 50 dollars that night on alcohol.  Still have a pretty big bottle at the moment.  Drink up me hearties yo ho! 


Man I was SOOOOOOOOOOOO drunk.  Not actually, but I was drunker than ever before???  Lesson.  Drink with more Korean dudes.  HE HAS THE LIVER OF 25 IRISHMEN!

Stay tuned for next week’s episode of… “The Misadventures of BLAM!@” 

(I’ll probably update more often than that)



Planes planes planes planes... CHICAGO not rly

Epic wake up time!  It was some time around 7am and I shook my brothers bed to wake him.  Spoilers I had not slept the night before JUST TO MAKE SURE I WOULDN'T MISS MY FLIGHT.  As I gather what I thought to be the last of my things I jumped into my brother's car tossing my luggage in the back seat.

"Wanna get mcdonalds?"  What?! McDonalds?!  I didn't even know my brother still ate that.  My brother the health dude asked if I wanted Maccers.  Naturally I kind of wanted it, but passed.  I wasn't sure if we'd get stuck in traffic or not.  Also.  Maccers not too healthy and I had a bag of green beans and cherries to eat.

The car drive has begun. 24 seconds in I have realised I have forgotten my watch, my sunglasses, and a phone number I wanted to carry. I turned around and just said, "We've gone too far."  I took a small nap in the car. We were both surprised by the  random traffic that occurred for no reason and end for no reason.  No accidents.  No merging.  Just people woke up in their cars I guess.  As I was dropped off we quickly realise that we could've gotten McDonalds... I'm sure he did after.

I am hungar... where are my green beans?! FACEPALM FAIL! As I remember that I took them out of my bag to wash them following by putting them in another bag. I just remembered I left them in my house. FML.  Naturally, I got McDonalds.   That whole "I want to be inside of you" advertisement must have been extremely compelling to people.

As I debated whether or not I should checkin luggage.  23 dollars sure made it easy to decide.  OH NO!! MY OLD SPICE BODY WASH! =( Now I won't smell freshershist.  Had to toss an entire bottle because of liquids rule.  Sad sad panda. Isaiah!! HELP ME!

I knocked out on the plane instantly.  No rapist.  It was cool. Landed in Chicago.  Sat in the airport for 4 hours.  Met this really awesome mom.  People are good people there. While I waited for my flight I obviously needed to use the restroom... SCREW YOU MCD's!!! hate you long time!  But the restrooms here were crazy cool! They had this technology for the toilets.  You know how you grab these toilet seat covers and lay it on the toilet? THEY HAVE AN APP FOR THAT! Yeah this machine that if you wave your hand over (sensor) it exchanges a sheet of plastic for a new sheet of plastic! Fresh plastic for your bum to sit on.

Then I flew to Rhode island.

And so begins my trip of the east coast.
.
.
.
.
.
.

Picture courtesy of Michael Nguyen's Facebook.

Thursday, August 5, 2010

Computers blown

There comes a time in everyone's life where their computer should just blow on them.  Mine was about 3 weeks ago.  As I saw my computer go inside-out, I quickly remembered that I would have multiple papers due in the next few weeks.  Being able to make sure I could still manage to do the previously said papers would be difficult. 

As I begin my overwhelming task of figuring out how to do this, I quickly decided that it was time to build a new computer.  Naturally I was able to get some help from the best electrical engineer I knew.  He's getting his degree in something that is not electrical engineering in about a year.  TRUST! It will go well! Seriously, he's the best guy I know.  I saw him build a computer with watch capacitors in a shoe box.  It actually ran windows 95.  I was impressed by the man and come opportunity I would ask him to build my future custom
Nintendo computer. 

So I bought my computer parts.  Motherboard, Power Supply, Processor, Ram, Video card,  and a hard drive.
.
.
.
.
It blew up. 

That's when we decided it'd just be a better idea to format my old computer.  If only I remembered where my camera.  It's the most impressive laptop I've ever had.  It currently is working and functioning on its last limbs, but it gets where I need to go.



P.S. My laptop is in two pieces.  Yeah I don't know how it works.  Don't ask, just use.